Kombucha brewing to commence!

I’m sure you’re all just so excited to see my wood carving hobby taking off. And yes it’s amazing! In the spirit of hobbies I will be getting into another one: Kombucha brewing. If you’ve never had Kombucha I would suggest you head down to your local healthy grocery store or maybe even Wal-Mart and grab a bottle. Kombucha is the bomb. It’s a probiotic drink that aids in digestion and has even been noted to reduce the risk of cancer. So yeah it’s a miracle drink.

For those of you who have never had it or don’t know what it is, Kombucha is a fermented sweet tea that is usually infused with fruit flavors. The fermentation occurs over the period of a week or two and is caused by a mushroom like yeast culture called a SCOBY (symbiotic cutlure of bacteria and yeast) that sits on top of the tea during fermentation. The taste of Kombucha is tart like vinegar but also has a sweet taste depending on the fruit or juice used in the infusing step. For a detailed description of the brewing process see this blog. She does a great job of explaining everything.

I started brewing Kombucha my Freshman year of college. My mom and I brewed all during the summer and experimented with flavors of pineapple, blueberries, strawberries, and chia seeds. As a lifeguard throughout the summer I would always bring a quart of Kombucha along for the day. It’s great stuff, but I stopped brewing in my Junior year because Bob Jones University didn’t hold too kindly to people brewing fermented beverages in the closet…so yeah. Regarding the alcohol content, there will always be some form of alcohol content in Kombucha since natural fermentation is occurring, however, for those of you concerned it is less than 1%. You’d have to drink gallons to feel even the slightest bit tipsy. Oh Bob Jones you had nothing to worry about!

Now I’m going to be getting back into it with my brother and father-in-law. My father-in-law has a warm spare room for brewing, and since my apartment’s small and the wife dislikes the ‘buch a lot it’ll be a good setup. Oh I forgot to mention that Kombucha requires a 65-85 degree room out of direct sunlight for optimal brewing. And Padre Wayne has exactly that so we’ll be set.

So if you’ve never seen the Kombucha brewing process before it can be a little off putting at first. Don’t worry though. The SCOBY is supposed to look like that. If you take proper precautions by having clean hands before handling your SCOBY, covering your brewing pot, and keeping your pots clean between brews the SCOBY won’t grow mold or become contaminated.  Below are some pictures I found online of the brewing and bottling of Kombucha. Disclaimer: none of these photos belong to me. As soon as I have something worthy to photograph I will.

If you’re interested in brewing, contact me and I’ll see if I can get you a child SCOBY when the mother is mature enough. Also, if you want a taste feel free to swing on by my place! Just give me a few weeks since I haven’t started brewing yet. Hope you enjoyed this and that it was at least a little bit educational and interesting.

2015-04-06-Kombucha-2
This is a good picture to see the layers (children) that the mother SCOBY grows
continuous-brew-system
This is the most accurate picture of what my setup will look like
2015-04-06-Kombucha-12
The SCOBY
slide_300100_2509699_free
Store bought Kombucha
2 thoughts on “Kombucha brewing to commence!

Leave a Reply

